Richmond Barracks was re-opened as a museum in 2016 as part of the centenary celebrations of the Easter Rising.
Richmond Barracks was built in 1810 to counter a Napoleonic invasion, and nearly every British Regiment would spend time at Richmond Barracks fighting in conflicts including the Crimean War, the Boer War, and World War 1.
These buildings were a key site for many significant events in Ireland’s national history, particularly in the immediate aftermath of the 1916 Rising.
After the 1916 Easter Rising, Richmond Barracks would become a centrepiece in the fight for Irish Independence, housing over 3,000 suspected rebels before their sentencing. When the site was turned over to the Free State Army in 1922, it remained a keystone of working class Dublin, hosting a housing estate and a Christian Brothers’ School.
Richmond Barracks is now an award winning unique visitor attraction. The barrack rooms contain outstanding exhibitions relating to the fascinating history and heritage of the buildings from their time as a military barracks, school, and housing estate.